Trying To Do It All

Photo credit: PromMafia

Trying to do it all when your body doesn’t want to cooperate makes an uphill battle even steeper. I’ve always wanted to be the traditional housewife and mother – the husband works, and my job is to take care of the kids and the house. I’m very old-fashioned in that way, and trying to fit that into the modern world. Except there is one problem with this: I’m a single mother. Have been for years – seven to be exact, if you don’t count the father’s early “noninvolvement.” This means I have to do it all. Yup, I’m chief cook, housekeeper, dish washer, and I have to somehow bring home income to support us with.

I also have several health issues. I have a herniated disc in my lower back, mild scoliosis, fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome, depression, anxiety, chronic headaches – gods only know what else. These combined make doing much of anything very difficult, and on high pain days nearly impossible. But I have to keep going, since there is no one I can turn to for help – at least physically.

I’m a type A++ personality, which makes this even more difficult. I’ve recently had to let go of my high expectations, I just can’t physically move mountains anymore. But that doesn’t mean I can’t move piles of dirt and rock until the mountain is gone. I have to take things slow, and I’ve found out that I need lots of support. Fortunately my writer friends on Twitter have been an amazing help. They’ve been very supportive, and I love them all. I can’t let my body dictate my life, or allow my circumstances to do so either. That doesn’t mean that I can push until I drop dead, but I can aim a little higher each day. I can do it all, I just need to do it in smaller chunks then I normally would. And that’s okay.

How have you tackled the issue of trying to do it all?

What Are Your Thoughts?

